Reflecting on the Process

I am writing a concluding post as I feel as though I have taken this journey through my blog and it only feels right reflecting on the process. I thoroughly enjoyed this project as a whole, not only has it opened up a new world of illustration but I feel like I have learnt a lot and developed my own illustrative style. As I am seeking to get into the fashion journalism industry when I graduate, I do feel confident enough to put forward that I can illustrate which I feel is a benefit in the publishing industry.

I constantly see celebrities putting up fashion illustrations on social media that their fans have sent in and I have always been in awe of how they have achieved such a professional finish from starting as a hand sketch. It never occurred to me that digital and traditional could complement each other so well. I have used digital and traditional methods before but I always assumed that fashion illustration is a stage in the design process but after this project I feel like it is an art.

I have created fashion illustrations previously in my course and from looking back at them I understand why I was so taken back by these fancy professional images you see on social media, mines were far from professional!

In saying this I do feel there are similarities to how I draw now compared to back then, it looks as though I have lengthened the legs and enlarged the eyes as I have done in my final Illustration. I came across a page of features I think I sketched in first year and I can definitely see similarities in the face of my final illustration:

I feel that taking inspiration from two illustrators has caused me to pick up an air of creativity, I now know that you can try ideas and be artistic with illustration. I have not only learnt about fashion illustration throughout my project I have learnt a lot about blogging and interacting with followers through social media. Over all I am happy with my final out come, if I were to do this again I would try and document on my blog more often and consistently but it is hard to do so with other subjects to study for aswell, I would consider making a blogging schedule if I were to do this type of project again. Although I am happy with my final piece, I would try and stay a bit more open minded as I feel that I have always fixated on Sabine Pieper’s style as it is most suited to mine however, I definitely have stepped out of my comfort zone in the course of this project and I hope that shows!

Thank you for taking this journey with me, I would love to hear your thoughts on the whole process…

Emma

Leave a Reply

